First ever Aurukun River To Ramp Fun Run hailed a success

by | Oct 16, 2015 | Uncategorized

More than 30 people took part in Aurukun’s inaugural 7km River To Ramp Fun Run on Sunday (11 October) from the Ward River to the Aurukun Boat Ramp – helping to promote healthy lifestyles and physical activity.

Jack Potter (pictured) was the Open Men’s champion and overall winner, running the 7km in a superb time of 30 minutes and 8 seconds, with Harry Westera second in 31mins 29secs.

Rhonda McNaught clinched the Master’s Women’s and overall women’s winner titles in 35mins 35secs, with Charmaine Jeffrey (36mins 6secs) winning the Open Women’s category, ahead of Paula Howe (39mins 24 secs).

Meanwhile, Ross McNaught won the Master’s Men crown, with several local children also taking part in the run.

The event finished with a sausage sizzle and presentation by Mayor Dereck Walpo and Chief Executive Officer Bernie McCarthy at the Aurukun boat ramp.

“We’re a Council which is passionate about bringing our community together for special events,” said Mayor Walpo.

“We can’t think of anything better than bringing everyone together to promote physical activity and a healthy lifestyle.

“Our thanks goes to all those who helped on the day to set up and man the water stops, the impromptu shower and taking the photos and times.

“There are too many to list but special thanks to Steph, Andrew, Scott, and Josh, and the council crew – the two Warrens, Lance, Dave, Chris, Viv, Rhonda, and Ian.

“Also, a special thanks to our sponsors Skytrans, Rio Tinto, Glencore, Island and Cape Retail, Apunipima, Aurukun PCYC, Aurukun Primary Healthcare and the Aurukun Shire Council.

“We look forward to holding the event next year and building on the participant numbers achieved this year.”

Open Men’s
Jack Potter and overall winner 30.08 Minutes
Harry Westera 31.29 minutes
Josh Marsh 45.36 Minutes

Open Women’s
Charmaine Jeffery 36.06 Minutes
Paula Howe 39.24 Minutes
Alice Westera 46.12 Minutes

Masters Men’s
Ross McNaught 41.31 Minutes
Kon Kalos 46.13 Minutes
Ron Fenner 48.20 Minutes

Masters Women’s
Rhonda McNaught and overall Women’s winner 35.35 Minutes
Rhonda Joliffe 42.29 Minutes
Shoba Kalos and Zabia Larue 1 Hr.06.07

Hayley Flatman (overall winner) 46.52 Minutes